Author Topic: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox  (Read 48055 times)

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Please note that YouWave for Android currently does not work together with Oracle VirtualBox due to conflicting libraries. We are working on solving this conflict and in the future users of VirtualBox can still run YouWave for Android software.
YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download

Sr. Gerard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2011, 09:10:15 AM »
YouWave may not work side by side with VirtualBox, inside it does.
This msg comes from YouWave running within a virtual XP-SP3 box.
For what it's worth. :-)

/\
\7erard
« Last Edit: December 08, 2011, 03:44:11 PM by Sr. Gerard »

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2011, 12:40:22 PM »
Like it! We wish there is a "Like" button on our forum.
YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download

Sr. Gerard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2011, 04:43:43 PM »
Like it! We wish there is a "Like" button on our forum.
First post, first thumbs up. By the board owner, no less. 8-)

Please have somebody reconsider this part of the download page:
A friendly notice
If VirtualBox is installed on your pc, you need to uninstall it before installing YouWave.


Do they really think that somebody would be willing to "uninstall" all his virtual machines (all of them, not just one) to try out a phone? ;-)

I'm in favor of something like this:
A friendly notice for VirtualBox users
Due to due to conflicting libraries, YouWave can only be installed on windows guests, not on your host machine.


And I think you can stop working on this, performance loss (for another virtual machine in between Android and the processors) can hardly be an issue, this should be good enough for everybody as it is. O:-)

/\
\7erard

dragonetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2011, 06:00:13 AM »
The conflicting library is here:

https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/8227

My virtual machines are to important so I had to edit the registry entry to get my virtualbox working!

I had only one issue after buying a license and that was the clipboard not beeing accessible in youwave android.
But that wasn't a deal-breaker and this would be prioritized in a future release...
(But in any way, it wan't a deal-breaker).

However this COULD be a deal-breaker, please resolve this asap (please!).

I read the warning about this so I naturally "un-installed" my portable virtualbox then installed youwave.
However the warning led me to believe that after you "un-install" you could get vbox working again.

But now it seems the 2 are completely unworkable at the same time due to the library issue.
The warning should be something like this:
"currently youwave and virtualbox can NOT work together because ..... please REMOVE virtualbox first"

Thanks!

(no dis-respect meant, I really love your app that's why I immediately got a license)

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2011, 01:27:52 PM »
This is really interesting, you're telling me you changed the registry entry to make vbox work?
And that the only problem is that they don't run at the same time?

I only heard of one other method... that was to install Youwave and vbox on separate Windows User Accounts...
« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 01:30:36 PM by reconx86 »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

dragonetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2011, 06:19:51 AM »
When I changed the registry setting back (pointing the ".dll" back to the virtualbox installation)
Virtualbox worked again, but youwave didn't work any more after the registry edit.

Youwave boots up but the android OS doesn't (right pane is empty)
When double clicking tghe "AndAppStore" icon I get the error "Android OS not ready, please wait a few seconds before retrying"

With "the same time" I meant:
If you have correctly installed youwave, then youwave and android will work but even if you close youwave and after that try to start your virtualbox, you get a vbox error (because of the registry thing).
Changing back the registry to it's original vbox setting will make vbox work but even after closing your vbox, youwave won't work anymore.

Note that this is my experience and I am using portable virtualbox.

runtomoon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2012, 03:36:37 AM »
from oracle virtualbox https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/8227
YouWave android emulator on Windows 7. Changes the registry key:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{46137EEC-703B-4FE5-AFD4-7C9BBBBA0259}\1.3\0\win64

it needs to manually be changed back to include the proper DLL path:

c:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VBoxC.dll

instead of the path to the YouWave dll file.

Registry setting:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{46137EEC-703B-4FE5-AFD4-7C9BBBBA0259}\1.3\0\win64] @="c:\\Program Files\\Oracle\\VirtualBox\\VBoxC.dll"

the youwave dll is located in
C:\Program Files\YouWave_Android\vb
so you make something that check if youwave is running it change the registery to youwave
and if you close it it change it back to virtualbox

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2012, 10:17:21 AM »
It's under "C:\Program Files (x86)\YouWave_Android\vb".

YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2012, 12:48:10 AM »
Full path for real VirtualBox is c:\\Program Files\\Oracle\\VirtualBox\. Virtualbox's exe files are under that directory.

Appreciate your help in writing the toggle function. It's worth a try. However, it probably is more than just that registry toggling to make it fully work. Nevertheless, in theory, this approach should work.
YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2012, 12:04:42 PM »
I have written a C# code, that modifies the registry before starting the application of your choice
The code itself is good, but I believe there are some details missing, to actually toggle between them flawlesly

On my computer VirtualBox started without any problems and YouWave became unresponsive (after startup), with some button-images missing (maybe that's a clue of what went wrong here). I think there are some minor details missing in what's needed to toggle between the 2, possibly another registry setting or somehing else. But I won't continue development, because of the need to use YouWave on a day-to-day basis, I can't afford it being non-responsive.

This (B├Ęta) application can easily be recreated in Visual Studio:
If used on a 32-bit system, modify win64 to win32

Create a project called:
- YouBox

Just add 2 buttons:
- btnVbox
- btnYouwave

In the designer double click the form and the buttons... to create the Click and Load events

And paste the code below:

Quote
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;
//Added Namespaces
using System.IO;
using Microsoft.Win32;
using System.Diagnostics;
using System.Security;

namespace YouBox
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }
        //Registry Root
        RegistryKey rg = Registry.ClassesRoot;

        //Registry Path (change this to win32 if on 32-bit computer)
        string key = @"TypeLib\{46137EEC-703B-4FE5-AFD4-7C9BBBBA0259}\1.3\0\win64";
       
        //Program Files (32 and 64 bit)
        string PGx86 = @"C:\Program Files (x86)";
        string PG = @"C:\Program Files";
       
        //Executable Files
        string youwave = @"\YouWave_Android\YouWave_Android.exe";
        string vbox = @"\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe";

        //Conflicting DLL Files        
        string youwaveDLL = @"\YouWave_Android\vb\VBoxC.dll";
        string vboxDLL = @"\Oracle\VirtualBox\VBoxC.dll";
       
        //CHECK IF REGISTRY IS ACCESSIBLE
        private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            //Try to open Registry key
            try
            {
                rg = rg.OpenSubKey(key, true);
            }

            //If it fails to open registry key, report user to Run as Administrator
            catch (SecurityException)
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Run as Administrator");
                return;
            }
        }

        //YOUWAVE BUTTON
        private void btnYouwave_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            //If YouWave application is in "Program Files (x86)" register DLL and start YouWave
            if (File.Exists(PGx86 + youwave))
            {
                rg.SetValue("", PGx86 + youwaveDLL);
                Process.Start(PGx86 + youwave);
            }

            //If YouWave application is in "Program Files" register DLL and start YouWave
            if (File.Exists(PG + youwave))
            {
                rg.SetValue("", PG + youwaveDLL);
                Process.Start(PG + youwave);
            }

            //Close registry key
            rg.Close();
        }

        //VIRTUALBOX BUTTON
        private void btnVbox_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            //If VirtualBox is in "Program Files (x86)" register DLL and start VirtualBox
            if (File.Exists(PGx86 + vbox))
            {
                rg.SetValue("", PGx86 + vboxDLL);
                Process.Start(PGx86 + vbox);
            }

            //If VirtualBox is in "Program Files" register DLL and start VirtualBox
            if (File.Exists(PG + vbox))
            {
                rg.SetValue("", PG + vboxDLL);
                Process.Start(PG + vbox);
            }

            //Close registry key
            rg.Close();
        }
    }
}

PS: Just some extra info (For 64-bit users):
I just found out that Virtual Box registers itself under the win32 key
and Youwave is registered under win64, 2 seperate keys

SEE PICTURE:
http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/reconx86/Registry_win32_win64.png

===========================================
Additional virtualbox observations (on 64-bit windows):
VirtualBox seems to change the contents of the %USERPROFILE%\.VirtualBox folder

Services added:
vboxdrv service

Known registry keys that are added upon virtualbox install
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{46137EEC-703B-4FE5-AFD4-7C9BBBBA0259}\1.3\0\win32

Known conflicting keys:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{46137EEC-703B-4FE5-AFD4-7C9BBBBA0259}\1.3\0\win64

Common conflict errors:
White screen
Initialization error: please reinstall youwave
FILE INCONSISTENT and then LICENCE CONSISTENCY ERROR
File inconsistency error & License inconsistency error
« Last Edit: September 05, 2013, 07:43:20 PM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2012, 09:22:19 PM »
I just discovered a bug or something not really pleasant:

After my YouWave became unresponsive, I had to re-install YouWave.
I coppied the HardDisks map in the same directory to start re-installing immediatly.
Now that I wanted to recover those VDI files, they suddenly weren't there

Apparently all subdirectories of %USERPROFILE%\.Virtualbox are removed on re-install.
So now all my apps and chathistories are gone... another thing (bug), is that YouWave doesn't prevent people from starting a second instance...
The second instance only messes things up.

I hope someone finishes the code or else this was all for nothing...
« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 09:44:28 PM by reconx86 »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2012, 12:26:05 AM »
Wait! Do you see a directory .virtualbox.sav? If yes, is there your VDI file? If you find it, back it up.

When you uninstall, your old .virtualbox is renamed to .virtualbox.sav. However,  if your uninstall the second time, the first .virtualbox.sav will be gone.

Also, by design, YouWave prevents the second instance. It is not working for you? Attached the a screen capture of when a second instance was started. In the background, the first instance was starting.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 12:36:32 AM by YouWaveAdmin »
YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2012, 06:16:51 AM »
Thanks, I really appreciate the fast reply, I just pasted the path %USERPROFILE%\.Virtualbox\Harddisks
That's why I didn't see it the first time, but unfortunatly YouWave stayed unreponsive, so I re-installed it again and again.

Then I decided to remove it via control panel and manually install it instead of running the re-install. By then the harm was already done.
But still thanks for the good advice
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveAdmin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
    • View Profile
Re: Notice: YouWave for Android does not work together with VirtualBox
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2012, 11:10:22 PM »
Solving the conflict is much involved. We will study and post here.
YouWave is updated to Android Lollipop. See youwave.com/download