Author Topic: A few Totally Newbie Questions  (Read 10527 times)

Eager_Beever

• View Profile
A few Totally Newbie Questions
« on: November 01, 2011, 06:28:07 AM »
I am a Software Developer (mostly Desktop Applications also Web Sites and Web based Applications) and have been thinking of trying my hands on Mobile Development Platform (Android and/or iOS). I must confess from the beginning that I have absolutely no knowledge or experience regarding mobile platform. Also I do not yet own any type of smartphone hardware (Android or iOS). I am trying to learn about Software Development under Android platform by reading materials and watching video tutorials. Sometime back I installed Android SDK from Google site and got it updated too. But I never managed to run the Android Emulator. Hence I was very surprised and happy when I installed YouWave for Android 2.0.0 and found that Android emulator runs without any tweaking. I copied and installed a few Android applications (.apk) that I had downloaded earlier and found them running fine.

Now I have a few questions as noted below and would be grateful if any member can help me in finding solutions to them :

a). I find that the emulator execution speed is very fast. Since I do not have any experience with any Android handset/tablet I can not do a comparison, but will I get the same blazing speed on a REAL Android device?? Also in future release of YouWave for Android will we get different emulators for specific Android hardware device??

b). If I purchase an Android device with say Android 2.2, can I myself upgrade it to a future release like Android 3 or Android 4?? (Like upgrading the desktop/laptop OS from WinXP to Windows 7)

c). Can I develop application and transfer the .apk to my hardware device and use it locally (without going through Market Place)??